About Us

Organization of ISFH

At the Institute for Solar Energy Research in Hamelin (ISFH), we are working on innovative components for the photovoltaic as well as solar thermal utilization of solar energy. Our main focus is the physical understanding of individual components and the development of cost-effective fabrication processes. As a single component may behave differently on its own than integrated into a system, single components fabricated at ISFH are also tested as part of energy systems.

We support the utilization of solar energy in collaboration with our partners from industry and our students through research and innovations.

ISFH is a research institute of the state of Lower Saxony and a non-profit limited liability company. We are an associated research institute of the “Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Universität Hannover” and also cooperate with other universities and universities of applied sciences in Lower Saxony as well as other federal states. The director of ISFH is Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Rolf Brendel, who is also a university professor at the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics of the Leibniz Universität Hannover. Professor Brendel is the head of the department Solar Energy at the Institute of Solid State Physics.

ISFH has three departments: “Photovoltaics”, “Solar Energy Systems”, and the calibration and test center “ISFH CalTeC”.

Our field of work in photovoltaics includes fundamental material research as well as development of processes and tools needed for the fabrication of solar cells and modules. The main focus is the development of novel silicon solar cells and the corresponding module technology to achieve energy conversion efficiencies above 20% on module level. Our superior goal is the reduction of levelized costs of electricity of solar energy conversion.

The department “Solar Energy Systems” focuses on the integrated energy supply of decentralized units such as buildings and housing estates with electricity and heat. The goal is to achieve a low-cost and low-carbon supply of energy in high-quality systems. To that end, ISFH is developing, assessing, and optimizing, among other things, solar thermal collectors, new coating processes and storage concepts, and new applications for and combinations of energy systems.

ISFH CalTeC (Calibration and Test Center) is offering independent and accredited calibration of silicon solar cells as well as assessment of solar absorber coatings, spectroradiometers, and solar thermal systems as well as components.

The institute is a member of the “Renewable Energy Research Association” (ForschungsVerbund Erneuerbare Energien, FVEE), a nationwide cooperation structure of institutes researching and developing technologies for renewable energy.

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board appoints, controls and advises the Managing Director. According to the Institute’s statutes it consists of up to nine members. Some of the members are directly appointed by the State of Lower Saxony, the rest being elected by a shareholders’ general meeting. The Supervisory Board also regularly invites guests to its meetings who perform an advisory function.

The members of the Board are

  • Ministerialrat Dr. Sebastian Huster (Head of the Supervisory Board), Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur Hannover
  • Regierungsdirektorin Jana Miksch (Deputy Head of the Supervisory Board), Niedersächsisches Finanzministerium, Hannover
  • Landrat Dirk Adomat, Landkreis Hameln-Pyrmont
  • Prof. Dr. Rolf Haug, Leibniz Universität Hannover
  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Rech, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie
  • Martin Roßmann, Viessmann Werke GmbH & Co. KG
  • Ministerialrätin Petra Schröder, Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Umwelt, Energie, Bauen und Klimaschutz, Hannover
Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Board advises the Director and the Supervisory Board of the ISFH on all scientific, technical and organizational issues. Board members were nominated by the Lower Saxon Minister for Science and Culture. The Board members are respected scientists from universities and industry as well as other personalities who, through their professionals experience, are familiar with the research topics of the ISFH.

The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Wriggers (Chairman), Leibniz Universität Hannover, Institut für Kontinuumsmechanik, Garbsen
  • Dr. Jutta Trube (Vice Chairman), VDMA, Frankfurt am Main
  • Prof. Dr. Günter Bräuer, Institut für Oberflächentechnik, Technische Universität Braunschweig
  • Prof. Dr. Ursula Eicker, Concordia University, Department of Building, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Montreal, Canada
  • Dr. Gunter Erfurt, Meyer Burger Technology AG, Thun, Switzerland
  • Dr. Bernd Hafner, Viessmann Werke GmbH & Co. KG, Allendorf (Eder)
  • Dr. Michel Haller, SPF Institut für Solartechnik, OST, Ostschweizer Fachhochschule, Rapperswil, Switzerland
  • Dr. Winfried Hoffmann, ASE, Hanau
  • Dipl.-Ing. Helmut Jäger, SOLVIS GmbH & Co. KG, Braunschweig
  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Kabelac, Institut für Thermodynamik an der Leibniz Universität Hannover
  • Dr. Lars Oberbeck, Total S. A., Paris, France
  • Dr. Kai Schiefelbein, Stiebel-Eltron GmbH & Co. KG, Holzminden
  • Prof. Dr. Frithjof Staiß, Zentrum für Sonnenenergie- und Wasserstoff-Forschung Baden-Württemberg (ZSW), Stuttgart
  • Prof. Dr. Arthur Weeber, TNO, Niederlande